Upul Tharanga to lead Sri Lanka in ODIs against South Africa

Share This PostShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponDigg this

Upul Tharanga will lead Sri Lanka for the five-match, one-day international series against South Africa due to absence of an injured Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews starting at Port Elizabeth on January 28. Tharanga became Sri Lanka’s 19th captain in ODIs and led the Sri Lanka team’s tri-series win in Zimbabwe last year.

Mathews returned home for the birth of his first child and also fast blower Nuwan Pradeep and opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka returned home due to their injuries on Tuesday.

Uncapped seam-bowling all-rounder Lahiru Madushanka, wicket-keeper Sandun Weerakkody and left-arm spinning all-rounder Chaturanga de Silva have been called for the ODI series. Chaturanga has been called for Sri Lankan team after 2014 and he played six ODI matches for Sri Lanka.

Chaturanga picked up 35 wickets including two five-wicket hauls in six matches and hit 560 runs including six fifties, for Nondescripts Cricket Club in the Premier League tournament. Lahiru hit 346 runs and picked up 15 wickets in seven matches and Sadun scored 530 runs in six matches in the same tournament.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad
  1. Upul Tharanga (Captain)
  2. Dinesh Chandimal
  3. Dhananjaya de Silva
  4. Niroshan Dickwella
  5. Nuwan Kulasekara
  6. Suranga Lakmal
  7. Kusal Mendis
  8. Asela Gunaratne
  9. Vikum Sanjaya
  10. Seekkuge Prasanna
  11. Sachith Pathirana
  12. Lakshan Sandakan
  13. Jeffrey Vandersay
  14. Chaturanga de Silva
  15. Lahiru Madushanka
  16. Sandun Weerakkody
ODI Schedule
  • 1st ODI – St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth, Sat Jan 28 (50 ovs) 10:00 local (08:00 GMT | 13:30 IST)
  • 2nd ODI – Kingsmead, Durban, Wed Feb 1 (50 ovs) 13:30 local (11:30 GMT | 17:00 IST)
  • 3rd ODI – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg, Sat Feb 4 (50 ovs) 13:30 local (11:30 GMT | 17:00 IST)
  • 4th ODI – Newlands, Cape Town, Tue Feb 7 (50 ovs) 13:30 local (11:30 GMT | 17:00 IST)
  • 5th ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion, Fri Feb 10 (50 ovs) 13:30 local (11:30 GMT | 17:00 IST)

 

Share This PostShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponDigg this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *